In the session of 1946 the House of Commons adopted a resolution stating that the effect of the provisions of the British North America Act relating to representation had not been satisfactory in that proportionate representation of the provinces according to population had not been maintained and that a more equitable apportionment of members to the various provinces could be effected if readjustments were made on the basis of the population of all the provinces taken as a whole. The Act was amended accordingly in 1946 to provide a new rule to regulate representation in the House of Commons. Generally speaking, representation was fixed as follows:—

The membership assigned to each province shall be computed by dividing the total population of the provinces by two hundred and fifty-four and by dividing the population of each province by the quotient so obtained.

This rule, employed in the redistribution of representation made in 1947, was effective in the General Election of 1949.

After the completion of the 1951 Census it was apparent that, as a result of a wartime shift of population, a substantial reduction in the representation of the Province of Saskatchewan would ensue under the rules then regulating representation. Accordingly, in an effort to eliminate sharp reductions in provincial representation from one census to another, the British North America Act was again amended (RSC 1952, c. 304, Sect. 51) (see Canada Year Book 1963-64, p. 75) to ensure that the representation of any province should not be reduced by more than 15 p.c. at any one readjustment, subject however to the qualifications that the effect of the rule should not be to make the representation of a province with a smaller population greater than any province with a larger population.

Subsequently in 1952, Parliament enacted RSC 1952, c. 334, effective in the General Election of 1953 and in each successive General Election down to that of the Twentyseventh Parliament (Nov. 8, 1965), which provided that representation in the House of Commons should be on the following basis:—

Sect. 2.—Eighty-five members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-five for the Province of Quebec, twelve for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, fourteen for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-two for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, seventeen for the Province of Saskatchewan, seventeen for the Province of Alberta, seven for the Province of Newfoundland, one for the Yukon Territory and one for Mackenzie district of the Northwest Territories, thus making a total of two hundred and sixty-five members.

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the 27 General Elections since Confederation is given in Table 9.

Province or Territory	1867	1872	1874 1878	1882	1887 1891	1896 1900	1904	1908 1911	1917 1921	1925 1926 1930	1935 1940 1945	1949	1953 1957 1958 1962 1963 1965
Ontario Quebec Nova Scotia	82 65 19	88 65 21	88 65 21	92 65 21	92 65 21	92 65	86 65	86 65	82 65	82 65	82 65	83 73	85 75
New Brunswick	15	16	16	16	16	20 14	18 13	18 13	16 11	14 11	12 10	13 10	12 10
Manitoba British Columbia	•••	4	4	5	5	7	10	10	15	17	17	16	14
Prince Edward Island		0	6	6	6	6 5	4	74	13	14 4	16 4	18 4	22
Saskatchewan Alberta Yukon Territory	}				4	4	10 {	10 7	16 12	21 16	21 17	20 17	4 17 17
Mackenzie River, N.W.T. ¹	}						1	1	1	1	1	1 {	1
Newfoundland	·											7	7
Totals	181	200	206	211	215	213	214	221	235	245	245	262	265

9.—Representation in the House of Commons, as at Federal General Elections 1887-1965

¹ Northwest Territories in 1963 and 1965.